Flight 77 Scholarship Program

On September 11, 2001, our community lost three Washington, D.C. teachers and three DCPS students onboard Flight 77. The Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation established a scholarship program to serve as a memorial for those we lost.

Three Excellence in Teaching scholarships were awarded to outstanding graduates from Washington, D.C. High Schools in June 2002. These scholarships honored the memory of Sarah Clark, James Debeuneure and Hilda Taylor - the three D.C. Public School teachers on Flight 77.

Our scholarship program will also honor the DCPS students on Flight 77 - Bernard Brown, Asia Cottom, and Rodney Dickens. Three of their classmates from Ketcham Elementary School, M.V. Leckie Elementary School and Bertie Backus Middle School will receive Excellence in Learning scholarships upon their graduation from high school.